Camas Prairie is named for the bulb that was a medicinal plant of the First Peoples diet. In The Undying West, Carlene Cross creates a memorable blend of personal and regional history of Camas Prairie. The voices in her stories include those of her father and his “sod-busting” friends; the Salish, Kootenai, Nez Perce, and Iroquois Indians. In the early days it boasted a bank, mercantile, grocery and newspaper.
Lonepine was named for a single pine tree located ¼ mile east and ½ mile south of the store. The original town was located at the site of the tree but when the store moved, the tree was left standing.
Niarada was the main trading place in the early days for stockmen who lived in the area. There was a store and community hall.
Hot Springs (originally called Pineville) developed around the medicinal hot springs on the Flathead reservation. Easterners drew lottery numbers in 1910 and those with the lowest numbers had first choice of 160-acre parcels for a single man or woman to prove up. By 1911 there were two hotels and several businesses. It is one of three incorporated towns in Sanders County. An annual potlatch draws First Peoples and spectators to the three-day event with tribal dance competitions, vendors selling native jewelry, art and food.